Call of Duty Black Ops 2

Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 ZombiesActivision has announced that Black Ops II will be receiving it’s fourth and final map pack, Apocalypse coming first to Xbox 360 on August 27th and contains two new multiplayer maps and two re-imagined fan favourites from Call of Duty: Black Ops, and Call of Duty: World at War.

With Apocalypse being the final map pack for Black Ops II, they’re going out with a bang. This particular DLC contains two brand new maps, Pod and Frost, as well as two re-imagined fan favourites, Takeoff and Dig. But that’s not all, this map pack of course includes a brand new Zombies experience. An experience Treyarch Studio Head, Mark Lamia is saying is their “most epic Zombies experience to date”.

The four maps included in this DLC are:

  • Pod: A failed utopian community from the 70’s has left stacks of dilapidated residential pods nestled into an abandoned cliff side in Taiwan. Its residents long gone, the modernist compound now hosts frenetic combat as players must run atop the pods, as well as navigate their multi-tiered interiors for a strategic edge.
  • Frost: Fresh snow meets explosive gunpowder in this snow-capped European city, where the bridge over a frozen canal separates it into two sides, requiring players to employ multi-level traversal strategies to outsmart and ultimately outshoot their enemies.
  • Takeoff:  Fans of “Stadium” from the original Call of Duty®: Black Ops First Strike DLC will find themselves at home on “Takeoff.” Marooned in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, this remote launch site is all about close-quarters combat, combining tight corners with open spaces for intense encounters.
  • Dig: An adaptation of the fan-favourite “Courtyard” from Call of Duty®: World at War, where two archaeological dig sites in Afghanistan become the perfect playground for combatants eager for hectic, unceasing confrontations. Treyarch, has retained the spirit of “Courtyard” with two major chokepoints, a wide open layout and raised platforms, but has provided fans with a fresh take on the multitude of paths.

Origins is the title of this Zombies experience which throws players into a “Dieselpunk-stylised World War I-era France” where they’ll be reintroduced to the four original heroes from the very first Zombies map, Tank, Nikolai, Takeo, and Rictofen. As well, of course, hordes of zombies that have overrun trenches and fields amongst the ruins of a mysterious and ancient location.

Unleashed after the Germans unearthed the mysterious “Element 115,” this next chapter in the Zombies legacy will explore the saga’s origins as players reunite with an unlikely band of soldiers that come together to defeat the greatest evil the world has ever seen, using a period-specific arsenal that includes Wonder Weapons that harness supernatural powers, a diesel-drone and Mark IV tank, as well a new perk machine and power-ups – and that’s just the start.” reads the press release. “Players will need all the help they can get to succeed in defeating the undead, as well as evading an unprecedented 1,000-foot tall robot abomination. In this stylised undead adventure, they’ll need every advantage if they have any hope of surviving one of Treyarch’s deepest Zombies experiences to date.”

Also, Avenged Sevenfold are back too providing the Soundtrack to this zombies experience with the song “Shepherd of Fire” from their upcoming album, “Hail to the King,”. If that wasn’t enough famed comics illustrator and painter, Alex Ross, has also lent his talent to Origins, providing original art that features the original Zombies heroes.

The Apocalypse map pack will be available first, exclusively on the Xbox 360 for the usual 1200 Microsoft Points on 27th of August, with other platforms to follow.

Join the Conversation

0 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
0 Comment authors
Recent comment authors
newest oldest most voted
Notify of