Emoji, something that first too the iPhone world by storm has finally been included in the latest version of Android and for those just getting used to the various little pictographs of food, vehicles, and faces will be pleased (or not so) to find out that with Unicode 7.0, over 250 brand new icons will be coming to our smartphone soon.

Unicode, you’ve probably heard of it but have never really understood what it is, well to put it simply, it’s an industry standard that regulates the presentation of text across different software platforms, without Unicode, things would be mental! (I don’t know for sure if that would actually be the case.. but I can imagine so..). According to the Unicode Consortium, the latest Unicode update, 7.0, around 250 new Emoji’s have been included one of which is the middle finger, which I’m sure will be the most used Emoji ever.

Now, don’t be rifling through your seemingly endless list of Emoji’s just yet, it actually requires makers of Unicode member platforms such as iOS and Android to implement Unicode 7.0 as well as developing pictographs to represent the new Emoji, which right now are only represented by a brief three-to-four word description. Some of the new Emoji consists of the following:

  • Black Droplet
  • Cloud With Tornado
  • Musical Keyboard With Jacks
  • Man In Business Suit Levitating
  • Reversed Hand With Middle Finger Extended
  • Raised Hand With Part Between Middle And Ring Fingers
  •  Optical Disc Icon

For the full list head on over to Emojipedia.org.


Join the Conversation

Notify of