One of the ways FreeStyleGames is hoping Guitar Hero Live will remain forever your music game of choice is with the new 24/7 live interactive music channel where players can jam along to the various tracks being played. Until now however we’ve been unsure on how it’ll work..

Essentially, Guitar Hero TV is a live music streaming service which constantly feeds you new music. Players can then choose to play along with these tracks live if they wanted to. Furthermore, players can also then purchase these tracks to play on demand.

This has however caused us to wonder whether this live service will require some form of subscription fee for players to access it. Fortunately that won’t be the case. If you’ve purchased Guitar Hero Live, Guitar Hero TV is absolutely free.

Guitar Hero TV will present various “shows” each with their own themes, for example, there’s Rock vs. Metal and Top 20 Hits. These various shows are aired at specific times on these channels, and there’s even a 7-day schedule so you know when to tune in. From here you’ll also be match made with other players from around the world who have also tuned in.

This is the core of where the game’s multiplayer mode has come in, as you and everyone else can play along with these tracks to rack up a high score.


In addition to these regular channels and shows, Guitar Hero TV will also sometimes offer “Premium Shows”, which are limited time challenges only available to those who either meet the prerequisites or alternatively buy-in with real cash.

If you’ve been playing along to a particular track you love, and want to play it on demand, you can, but it’ll cost you. In-game currency will be one way you can “rent” a track to play through it once, but if you want it for keeps, you’ll have to pay real money. Fortunately though it seems in-game cash is pretty affluent, so you could essentially just rent as and when you feel like it.

There is however one little catch to this purchase. You’ll never be able to play it offline as there’s essentially no DLC. All of the tracks, other than what come on-disc comes from the cloud. So even if you shell out real money for your favourite track, you still won’t “own” it. Finally, Activision has revealed that there’s also an All-Access, limited time pass that’ll let you unlock the entire library for a few hours, which is pretty good.

Guitar Hero Live is expected on PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Wii U, Xbox 360 and Xbox One on October 20, oh and even more songs have been announced:

  • “The Lazy Song” — Bruno Mars
  • “American Idiot” — Green Day
  • “Lust for Life” — Iggy Pop
  • “Before He Cheats — Carrie Underwood
  • “Thunder Kiss ’65” — White Zombie
  • “Under Cover of Darkness” — The Strokes
  • “Are You Gonna Be My Girl?” — Jet
  • “Freak on a Leash” — Korn
  • “Thunder on the Mountain” — Bob Dylan
  • “Higher Ground” — Red Hot Chili Peppers
  • “Pedestrian at Best” — Courtney Barnett
  • “Bulls on Parade” — Rage Against the Machine
  • “Feels So Close” — Calvin Harris
  • “Come With Me Now “ — KONGOS
  • “Rimbaud Eyes” — Dum Dum Girls
  • “I Gotsta Get Paid” — ZZ Top
  • “Another is Waiting” — The Avett Brothers
  • “Breaking the Law” — Judas Priest
  • “Asleep at the Wheel” — Band of Skulls
  • “Best Day of My Life” — American Authors
  • “What Doesn’t Kill You” — Jake Bugg
  • “Sounds Like Balloons” — Biffy Clyro

Join the Conversation

Notify of