Home News Gaming News Shadow of the Tomb Raider: All the Latest Details

Shadow of the Tomb Raider: All the Latest Details

Shadow of the Tomb Raider's set to be chock full of options.

Square Enix has released yet another video teasing different elements of their upcoming Shadow of the Tomb Raider title, along with information on its difficulty settings, classic outfits, and more.

The video shows off a plethora of unique environments that Lara will be aquatically traversing throughout her adventure. Ranging from submerged ancient ruins to underwater lava caves.

Though, she must borrow a red tunic from Link or something for the latter, because there is no way she isn’t getting boiled alive swimming through that shit without paying a visit to the Gorons first.

But I digress…

Subscribe to n3rdabl3 on YouTube!

Along with this latest video, Square Enix also divulged how Shadow of the Tomb Raider’s FOUR difficulty settings will not only affect combat but exploration and puzzles as well! To me, this is more interesting than the amount of swimming we can expect to be doing. Generally, when a game lets you tweak its difficulty it usually only pertains to the combat and damage you receive. Having the setting change a majority of the game’s experiences drastically varies how we are going to play it, and honestly, makes the replay-ability much more appealing.

The four modes in Shadow of the Tomb Raider are Easy, Normal, Hard, and Deadly Obsession, along with the return of Survival Instincts. At any time during your playthrough, players can toggle things like Beacon and Glow, which show the next objective location as well as which objects can be interacted with, respectively. However, these options are not included in the hardest difficulty, Deadly Obsession, because, well, that would just make things too easy.

What follows is a break down of all the differences between the four settings.


Easy Mode: Aim assist enabled, bountiful ammo boxes, Enemies are illuminated for your convenience, and also have less health and do less damage.

Normal Mode: Enemies have regular health and do moderate damage, ammo boxes are rare, enemies still illuminated.

Hard Mode: Ammo Boxes still rare, Enemies do increased damage, have increased health, and can locate Lara faster. There is no health regeneration during combat, no hit markers in the reticle, and enemies are no longer highlighted through Survival Instincts.

Deadly Obsession: Same as Hard Mode, BUT no HUD icon appears when Lara is being Detected by an enemy.



Easy Mode: Base camps are illuminated, Longer saving grab timers, obvious white paint marks pathways.

Normal Mode: Base camps aren’t pre-lit, regular saving grab timers, white paint is more discreet.

Hard Mode: Base Camps Unlit, No Survival Instincts for exploration, smaller saving grab times, no white paint to mark paths.

Deadly Obsession: Same as Hard, Base camps are unlit AND require resources to light them, the game ONLY saves at Base Camps.


Easy Mode: Lara gives direct hints about what to do next, Interactable objects will be highlighted in Survival Instincts while Puzzle specific objects will be highlighted in blue, there is also longer windows of opportunity for timed mechanics.

Normal Mode: Lara will give more vague hints about what to do next, interactable objects still highlighted in Survival Mode, regular window of opportunity for timed mechanics.

Hard Mode and Deadly Obsession: Lara doesn’t say shit, no survival instincts, shorter windows of opportunity during timed mechanics.

In addition to all of this, Square also announced that like Rise of the Tomb Raider before it, Shadow of the Tomb Raider will have those classic Tomb Raider skins we love using to fuck up the game’s graphics. You know the ones I’m talking about…

Just look at her. Fucking haunting, am I right?

While Square Enix has yet to say how many skins will be included, we can expect at least three. The Tomb Raider 2 classic look, the bomber jacket look from the original Tomb Raider, and the Tomb Raider: Angel of Darkness style. Since Rise of the Tomb Raider offered even more classic skins I think it’s safe to say Shadow of the Tomb Raider will as well. How one unlocks these skins has yet to be announced, but at least we know we’ll have the option at some point.

Finally, Eidos Montreal has announced that it has no plans, at this time, to bring Shadow of the Tomb Raider to the Switch. The game is set to release September 14, and the team is focusing on meeting that deadline for PC, Xbox One, and PS4 consoles. Lead game designer, Heath Smith, did say that he loves Nintendo’s newest console though, so maybe he isn’t ruling out a future release for the Switch just yet? However, if we DO get one of the Tomb Raiders on the Switch it probably won’t be anytime soon.

Be sure to let us know what you think in the comments below, and to keep checking back with us here at n3rdabl3 as more Shadow of the Tomb Raider news comes to light. We’ve got you covered!

Join the Conversation

Notify of