Overwatch League is looking to expand upon the success of its inaugural season by expanding up to 20 teams for its 2019 season.

Last month, franchises representing Atlanta and Guangzhou were announced for the 2019 season of the Overwatch League. Blizzard has now announced that 6 more teams, representing Chengdu, Hangzhou, Paris, Toronto, Vancouver, and Washington, D.C. will be entering the league in 2019.

Pete Vlastelica, president and CEO of Activision Blizzard Esports Leagues, has said the following regarding the expansion of the Overwatch League:

“We just capped an amazing inaugural Overwatch League season, crowning our first-ever champion in front of a sold-out crowd of dedicated and passionate fans,”

Overwatch League Crowd

“Now, as we look forward to the 2019 season and beyond, we’re adding eight new teams that will help us grow our league in important regions around the globe. We know that the difference between a good league and a great league is its owners, and we set a high bar for our first season with the caliber of ownership groups. Every one of these expansion franchises cleared that bar and will make our league even better.”

The official team names, logos, and rosters are still set to be revealed, but you can read the full statement, as well as a list of team owners, on the official Overwatch League website.

Are you excited to see the Overwatch League grow? Will you be supporting a ‘local’ team? let us know in the comments below!

Join the Conversation

Notify of