Several reports this weekend have warned PS4 players to set their messages to private following a message that’s been making the rounds which has been causing players to factory reset their PlayStation 4 consoles.

Over the weekend several reports of messages being sent to some PlayStation 4 users have found that it has completely “bricked” their consoles causing them to factory reset the device. The private message contains characters that hit some type of exploit with the PS4 system software which locks up the console.

For some, even receiving the notification was enough for the console to lock. Over on the PS4 subreddit, many are reporting the various ways the message has affected their console. Even deleting the message from the mobile app wasn’t enough to stop the exploit from doing damage.

Once the message has locked the console, the only way to fix it is to factory reset, which could cause players to lose game saves and progress if they don’t have PS Plus or back up their saves.

If you’ve not set your messages to private, you can do so using the below instructions:

Go to Settings > Account Management > Privacy Settings > Enter your password > Personal Info | Messaging, and set Messages to either Friends (if you trust them) or No One.

Join the Conversation

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of