The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance Rian

Netflix has just shared the star-studded voice cast for The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance, a prequel series to Jim Henson’s 1982 fantasy film, The Dark Crystal. Following the original movie’s example, Age of Resistance will have a cast of puppets with practical effects, showing no humans onscreen and using no form of digital visual enhancement.

Taron Egerton (Kingsmen), Anna Taylor Joy (The Witch), and Nathalie Emmanuel (Game of Thrones) will lead the cast as Gelflings Rian, Brea, and Deet, respectively. 

Caitriona Balfe (Outlander), Helena Bonham-Carter (The King’s Speech), Harris Dickinson (Maleficent 2), Natalie Dormer (Game of Thrones), Eddie Izzard (Ocean’s Thirteen), Theo James (Divergent), Toby Jones (Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy), Shazad Latif (Star Trek Discovery), Gugu Mbatha-Raw (The Cloverfield Paradox), Mark Strong (Kingsman), Alicia Vikander (Tomb Raider) will be filling out the rest of the Gelfling cast.

The Mystics and the Skeksis will be voiced by Mark Hamill (Star Wars), Harvey Fierstein (Torch Song), Ralph Ineson (Game of Thrones), Jason Isaacs (Harry Potter), Keegan-Michael Key (Key and Peele), Ólafur Darri Ólafsson (True Detective), Simon Pegg (Mission: Impossible), and Andy Samberg (Brooklyn Nine-Nine). 

Augra, a character that was seen in the original Dark Crystal film, will return and be voiced by Donna Kimball (The Happytime Murders). 

Cindy Holland, the vice president of Original Series at Netflix, said that: “To match the stunning visual world of The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance, we knew we had to entice some incredible voice talent to add dimension to the exquisite artistry of the puppeteers who bring the characters to life. I am proud to say that this may be one of the finest casts assembled from the world’s favorite TV shows and movies, and I am now even more excited for fans to come back to Thra with us, and for new viewers to discover this world for the very first time.”

The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance will premier at some point in 2019. 

Join the Conversation

Notify of