Video Game Awards 2018 Logo

The annual Video Game Awards takes place this evening and to get you prepared for the big event, which is set to have a ton of announcements too, we’ve got a round-up of everything you need to know.

With companies already teasing announcements, such as Nintendo, Ubisoft, and maybe even Rocksteady, there’s plenty in store for video game fans tonight, so here’s a brief rundown of when, how, and what to watch.

The show is over! Here are all the winners!

When is the Video Game Awards 2018?

The Video Game Awards 2018 is set to take place in Los Angeles beginning with a pre-show on December 6, 2018 at 5:30PM PST (LA Time). This converts to 8:30PM EST (New York time), December 7, 2018 at 1:30AM GMT (UK Time), and December 7, 2018 at 11:30 AM AEDT (Australia time).

The main show is expected to begin at 6PM PST, 9PM EST, 2AM GMT, and 12PM AEDT

Yep, Anyone outside of the US is going to have a late night on their hands if they want to watch the show live. Speaking of which…

Where to watch the Video Game Awards 2018

The Video Game Awards 2018 will be streamed across the globe on various platforms, some of which are specific to their target countries. But for those of you looking for links to the main streams, they are below:

What can we expect from the Video Game Awards 2018

Video Game Awards 2018, When, How, and What to Watch - n3rdabl3

Already we’ve seen plenty of rumors of what could appear at The Video Game Awards 2018. We know that there are at least 10 video game announcements scheduled for the event, this may include a remaster of Crash Team Racing, a new Alien video game, Alien Blackout.

Ubisoft also released a teaser yesterday for a new Far Cry video game which seems to be a follow on from Far Cry 5. Nintendo has also teased an announcement for the Video Game Awards relating to Super Smash Bros. Ultimate, however, many are also thinking the announcement of a Metroid Prime game will also happen.

Epic Games is also expected to announce something relating to Fortnite. This follows the launch of Season 7 as well as the announcement of Fortnite Creative which launches for Battle Pass subscribers today.

Other hot takes include Microsoft’s newly acquired studio, Obsidian announcing something at the event, Borderlands 3 being announced is also another spicy rumor, though this one is highly unlikely – though Gearbox CEO Randy Pitchford has been playing the “3” card a little too much as of late.

There’s also mention of Death Stranding making an appearance, and of course, NeatherRealm studios have been tipped to unveil the next Mortal Kombat at the event.

What awards are being handed out at the Video Game Awards 2018

In total there’ll be 30 award categories, with 22 decided by a jury of video games media with the remaining 8 categories being decided by the public. This includes awards such as Game of the Year, which could be God of War, Spider-Man, or Red Dead Redemption, among others, Best Game Direction which includes nominees Detroit: Become Human, God of War, or Spider-Man among others.

There are also awards such as Best Performance, which includes nominees such as Bryan Dechart as Connor – Detroit: Become Human, Melissanthi Mahut as Kassandra – Assassin’s Creed Odyssey, and Yuri Lowenthal as Peter Parker, Marvel’s Spider-Man.

~

So there you have it. Be sure to stay tuned to n3rdabl3 later this evening as we’ll be covering everything that gets thrown out of the Video Game Awards this evening. You can follow our coverage by checking out our tag.

Join the Conversation

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of