Microsoft has today revealed its future approach to PC gaming and has unveiled Xbox Game Pass for PC.

Now, I know what you’re thinking… “Xbox Game Pass has always allowed me to play Xbox titles on PC?” and in some respects you’re right, since Xbox Game Pass became a thing and included first-party Play Anywhere titles at launch, PC players have been able to play State of Decay 2, Forza Horizon 4, and Sea of Thieves with an Xbox Game Pass subscription.

But as you may have noticed, there’s a caveat right there, it relied on those titles being Play Anywhere titles. Unfortunately, this meant players couldn’t load up titles like Metal Gear Survive, Void Bastards, or DOOM, for example.

Fortunately, this is about to change with Xbox Game Pass for PC a version of Microsoft’s game subscription service that’ll give PC players similar benefits to Xbox players except tailored to the PC market. Like with the Xbox counterpart, the PC version will offer unlimited access to a curated library of over 100 titles for Windows 10.

What’s more, Xbox Game Pass for PC subscribers will also receive discounts on the Microsoft Store on Windows for games currently in the library, as well as up to 10% off related DLC and add-ons.

While the games included as well as the pricing is yet to be unveiled, Microsoft did tease that a number of publishers and developers are on board as well as those that fall under the Xbox Game Studios banner.

Microsoft is planning to reveal more at E3 2019. Their showcase is set to take place on June 9 at 1PM PT // 4PM ET // 9PM BST.

Join the Conversation

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of