In a post over on the Xbox Wire, Microsoft announced that it’ll begin launching games on Steam as well as provide support for Win32 gaming on Windows 10.

Microsoft looks to be taking PC gaming seriously. First unveiling the Xbox Game Pass for PC and now revealing that some of its titles will be coming to other storefronts. In the post, the company said that it understood that people have their preferred storefronts, so in the not so distant future, it’ll launch some of its games on platforms like Steam.

“…our intent is to make our Xbox Game Studios PC games available in multiple stores, including our own Microsoft Store on Windows, at their launch. We believe you should have choice in where you buy your PC games,” the company wrote.

As for the titles we can expect to land on Steam, Microsoft didn’t reveal too much of its hand just yet, though it did mention that Gears 5 and its Age of Empires Definitive Editions will be among them. This follows the news that Halo: The Master Chief Collection will be coming to Steam later this year.

Furthermore, the company will strive to ensure all of its future Xbox Game Studios titles on PC include features like voice and text chat, LFG, friends lists, and cross-play across PC and console.

If that wasn’t enough, Microsoft also revealed its intentions to support Win32 on Windows 10.

“We recognize that Win32 is the app format that game developers love to use and gamers love to play, so we are excited to share that we will be enabling full support for native Win32 games to the Microsoft Store on Windows. This will unlock more options for developers and gamers alike, allowing for the customization and control they’ve come to expect from the open Windows gaming ecosystem.”

More details on Microsoft’s future plans on PC are expected to be announced at E3 2019 where the company will be hosting their showcase on June 9 at 1PM PT // 4PM ET // 9PM BST.

Join the Conversation

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of